#PREPANDPRIME: My Favorite Primers

Hello hello everyone! It’s been another stretch without new posts, sorry! I can’t help it – it is midterm season for me, as my college is on quarter system. Let’s wind the day down with a short and sweet review on my two favorite primers. If you are a makeup junkie like me, you can’t put on your face without primer. So, let’s go!

img_3634

can you guess these primers based on this picture? 🙂

I always try to keep two kinds of primers with me: one that mattifies and smoothes; another that brightens and illuminates. The mattifying primer works well to control my oily skin and is suitable for heavy make up days (think conference or clubbing). On the other hand, a dewy, watery primer is great for a fresh everyday look.

IMG_3627.JPG

My favorite, go-to mattifying primer since high school has been Benefit’s Porefessional primer. It’s silicon-like texture erases pores and blurs out imperfections – I layer it under heavy-coverage foundation.

img_3647

My other favorite primer is a new discovery: I’ve seen Youtube beauty gurus rave about MAC’s strobe cream, and had to snag one (well actually, my boyfriend snagged it for me <3). The formula is INCREDIBLE – not too sparkly, but just enough to give me that #glow. I like wearing this all over the face before patting on my BB Cushion. I think that BB cream/cushion formulas and this light, dewy primer goes together perfectly.

img_3644

Swatches below:

img_3638

top: strobe cream   bottom: porefessional

 

I only have travel sizes for these items, but I cannot wait to buy full-sized versions! What are your favorite primers, and do you also switch between primers to create different effects on your skin? Let me know in the comments below. Peace!

Leave a Reply

