#THELIST: 2017 New Year’s Resolutions

As I sit here watching Fifth Harmony sing their hearts out on TV for New Year’s Eve and responding to texts from my friends in China who are already thriving in 2017, it finally hits. 2016 is over. Soooooo~

let’s pay homage to the good ol’ tradition and make our NY Resolution list! Here are three of my NY Resolutions.

img_9962

cheers to 2016. it’s been real.

  1. Simplify the mind. As we grow older, we deal with various relationships, responsibilities, and goals. I hit my 20s this year, and even though I am still really young, it’s inevitable that I begin to feel more complex emotions and deal with dilemmas about friends, family, and career. I remember being in China over the summer, surrounded by my favorite people in my favorite country – but I’d lie awake in bed for 3-4 hours just thinking about my life and future. It is important to think, but never to overthink. Next year, I want to continue journaling in order to get my emotions out, but I don’t want to dwell on things that just race around in my mind. e3efbe832b6d49e3fa41ff3e76a0721a.jpg
  2. Get up earlier! This is like, so so hard for me guys. I wanted to get up early when 2016 started – and did pretty well until the summer. Then, the laziness set in~ I was doing an independent research project that sometimes would start at 3PM in the afternoon, so I’d sleep past lunch time…and wake up feeling like an ass. Now, I do agree that the occasional good 12+ hour, no alarm-to-wake-me-up sleep session does wonders to the body and soul, but when that starts becoming a bit of a norm…it doesn’t do good for anybody. Just by getting up 30 minutes or 1 hour earlier, I can squeeze in some reading time. I could slap on a face mask and journal without rushing. I could go to the gym. Life is too short to sleep in so often, no?img_1304
  3. Read more and remember the content. I recently read a PhD blogger who gave a great tip – whenever you finish a book, write a short one-paragraph summary about it as well as its significance to you. This is especially crucial for more dense, nonfiction books about the history of a nation, international politics, etc. Each book is a theory; if you have summaries of these theories at your fingertips, you can just pull them out for when you are writing your own thesis or research article. So, apart from participating in a goodreads challenge, I also want to start my own book log.
  4. For the love of god stop eating so many carbs. This is the reason why you feel sleepy so much of the time, and why your face is puffy in the mornings. Enough said.

And that’s a wrap! 2017, here we come. 2016 may have hit us hard in the most unexpected ways, but there’s always tomorrow to look forward to.

Let me know your NY Resolutions in the comments! Also, this blog is only 100 followers away from hitting ONE THOUSAND FOLLOWERS (thank youuuuuu)! Please show your love and follow me 🙂 

Leave a Reply

