#ANXIETY: Beauty Routines Can Help With Anxiety

Short post today ~~ I read an article by Meg Zulch on Bustle on How My Beauty Routine Has Helped My Anxiety. Meg is a popular blogger on Bustle’s platform; even though she posted this article a year ago, reading it touched me so much that I want to share it all with you!

7baf8490-2992-0133-09c4-0e76e5725d9d.jpeg

PC: Meg Zulch on Bustle

Her article basically describes her beauty routine and why it helps her when she feels less than her best self, when she is nervous, or even just to establish morning habits to combat anxiety and depression.

I’m sure we all have times of anxiety or stress, days where we want to pull the covers over our heads and cry ourselves back to sleep. And yet, we need to still face the world, because there are papers to write, meetings to go to, friends to meet. How can we make ourselves feel slightly better as we face the responsibilities of the day? To be honest, I used to despise the whole Youtube trend of (summer, winter, autumn, and spring) morning routines and evening routines. I always cringed at the thought of someone videotaping themselves fake-waking up to the camera, all happy and smiling as they get out of bed to make a cup of [insert sponsored brand name] detoxifying tea. Oh merry day! Everything seemed like a really bad advertisement. Yet, after reading this article, I became aware of how important routine can be – as well as how therapeutic it may be for others to learn on Youtube how to establish a set beauty routine.

Meg says so herself:

“Usually when I’m feeling depressed or anxious, I neglect myself by not brushing my teeth or washing my face. It can feel impossible to partake in these simple acts of love for myself when I’m so debilitated by fear or sadness…the bottom line is that if you don’t remind yourself that you are worth taking care of, then you can’t properly help yourself. And so my mornings got a makeover.”

9b579c80-29a4-0133-4747-0a2ca390b447.jpeg

And to those haters who retort, “you are just conforming to beauty standards set by other people to make yourself feel better”, she cleverly retorts:

“What makes this routine work is the way I’ve broken down negative definitions of what it means to be beautiful and perform femininely. Putting on makeup or going through my skincare routine are nothing but centering activities for me. I’m not doing them for anybody else.”

I think it is so amazing that just applying sunscreen, BB cream or mascara can lift someone’s mood and ease stress. Let’s all take a moment to appreciate the little routines we set up for ourselves – routines always get this bad rap. People think that word implies something nonhuman, mechanical, like we are cogs in a machine — get up, get coffee, get shoes, spritz perfume, go to work. But sometimes it really is all about perspective. Scientists will argue that perhaps establishing conscious routines is precisely what makes us so human. What is your little get ready routine, and how does going through that routine make you feel? I’ll be posting my summer morning routine very soon.

Meanwhile, here’s to watching more Youtube morning/evening routine videos and discovering the little things in life that make us smile. See you guys!

 

 

Leave a Reply

