#TRAVELJOURNEY: Tim Burton Exhibition, Shanghai

Last week, before returning to the United States, I went with my mom to Tim Burton’s exhibition The World of Tim Burton in XinTianDi (新天地), Shanghai. My first exposure with Tim Burton was when I watched Sweeney Todd back in middle school – the simultaneous creepiness and adorability in his characters have always captivated me. So, when a friend told me about his exhibition in Shanghai, I knew it was a once in a lifetime opportunity that I could not skip. Like this post if you are a Tim Burton fan!

IMG_3238

The exhibition is divided into 4 floors, including galleries showing sketches Tim Burton made during his early artistic career as well as his preliminary sketches for Alice in Wonderland, Edward Scissorhands, and Sweeney Todd. Pictures could only be taken on the 3rd and basement floor.

IMG_3228IMG_3229

The 3rd floor was an interactive area with life-sized sculptures of Burton’s most famous characters that visitors could touch and interact with!

IMG_3241IMG_3249IMG_3250IMG_3251IMG_3252

At the basement, besides screenings of Burton’s short films, there is a beautiful, unique exhibition created by Burton that is glow-in-the-dark! Walking through the exhibition was definitely a surreal experience. Glad I had my DSLR with me, because our iPhones couldn’t pick up the awesome lighting.

IMG_3254IMG_3256IMG_3264

IMG_3258

it’s like I’m a ghost!!

That’s all for today. Ah, I’m back in America and ready to make more beauty-related posts!

Don’t forget to follow. 🙂

IMG_3266

 

 

Leave a Reply

