#ESSENTIALS: Summer Makeup and Skincare

As we enter into the lovely month of August, I wanted to share with you all my essential makeup and skincare items to ensure you exude beauty even during the hot, humid summer season. This summer, as I continue to endure 100 degree weather in China, I have realized that these products are my holy grail summer items of 2016. Comment below with your holy grail summer product!

IMG_3177.JPG1 – The Face Shop’s Jeju Aloe Soothing Gel

Aloe Vera is great during the summer months when we tend to turn away from heavy body moisturizers. This gel has a light aloe vera scent and sinks immediately into the skin for that cool and refreshing dose of moisture. Plus, in Korean makeup stores, aloe vera gel tends to be quite affordable. My mom and I have almost used the bottle up!

2 – Kat Von D Light and Shade Contouring Palette

Literally use this everyday, either for a warm toned bronzed look or a more neutral-toned contour. This palette is my life – mixing and matching the three bottom shades makes it impossible for me to create a contour color that doesn’t match my skintone. Plus, the formula stays on for virtually the whole day. My wallet suffered a little from this purchase, but hey, will repurchase many many times.

IMG_3185

3 – Sephora Blush in Hot Flush

Absolutely adore the sheer yet neon-tinged shimmery orange blush for summer time!  I put this on and feel like a bronze beauty at the beach (even though I’m most likely in a Chinese subway packed with people lol). It has a bit of sexy and a bit of cute, but most importantly, it blends like a dream. Love this – great job Sephora!

IMG_3183

IMG_3187

left is Sephora Blush; right is K-Palette eyeliner

4 – K-Palette 24-hour Eye Tattoo in Black

This eyeliner is jet black, has a precise tip, delivers great color payoff, and literally won’t rub off for the entire day. I’ve had allergy attacks while wearing this eyeliner – not a single smudge. Great for the humid summer months. Only downside? Hard to wash off with oil or with a makeup remover wipe….

5 – Missha Magic Moisture BB Cushion (but is anyone surprised)

Since last year, this cushion has been my absolute favorite light coverage BB cushion. I’ve tried brands that are too white, too opaque, too oily, or extremely short-wearing. This cushion brightens your skin and covers up minor redness but also keeps the skin glowy, never oily. That is a must in the summer. Props to Missha once again.

 

6 – 3CE Shimmer Stick in #PINK

Received this from Miibox in the spring and am now using it like crazy. The subtle shimmer is great for layering under foundation to produce that super youthful glow! Not oily at all and not overly shimmery – nobody wanna look like a disco ball…

IMG_3184.JPG

A mini honorary mention has to go to Batiste Dry Shampoo – you make my hair look decent sometimes when it isn’t; I am forever grateful.

That’s all for today! Please make sure to follow me if you enjoyed the post. Until next time~~

 

2 thoughts on “#ESSENTIALS: Summer Makeup and Skincare

Leave a Reply

