#MEH: Pony Effect That Girl Luminous Contouring Palette Review

Hey guys! Today, I’ll be sharing my thoughts on Korean makeup guru PONY’s collaboration products with MEMEBOX. I was a huge fan of PONY’s eyeshadow palettes. What do I think of her contouring palette? Let’s find out!

IMG_2818IMG_2812

 

PONY’s EASY SHINE GLAM palette was phenomenal. The colors were unique but suitable for daily wear, and the formula was very buttery. I was especially fascinated by the matte cool-toned tan shades in the palette – they were absolutely perfect for my fair yellow-toned skin. The shade was not too muddy or red, and the pigment was just right. As I began to hit pan on these shades, I decided to purchase the pricey Contouring Palette. It’s from PONY, so it should be similar and leave me satisfied right?

Wrong. I really loved the packaging and buttery consistency of the palette, but other than that, none of the 4 shades really showed up on my skin.

IMG_2814

the packaging is stunning!

IMG_2815

There are two highlight shades (Muse Maker and Angel Skin) as well as two contour shades (Divine Work and Behind Story). I’m confused and disappointed by each shade in the palette except perhaps Muse Maker.

Angel Skin is, according to the MEMEBOX website, a “gold and diamond pearl powder”. On my skin, it looked like chunky patches of gold glitter, like fall out from shimmery eyeshadow or something. Divine Work is a bronzer shade with “gold micropearl”, but the pigment did not show up on my skin at all. Behind Story seems dark in the pan, but in fact, even after loading the product onto my contour brush, the pigment did not show up. I could only see it when doing nose contouring.

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 7.16.39 PM

PC: MEMEBOX

IMG_2817

top to bottom: Angel Skin, Muse Maker, Divine Work, and Behind Story

Muse Maker is the best shade in the palette. It contains gold and silver shimmer pearl, and gives a natural but visible sheen on the cheekbone. Yet, even with this shade, the product did not last long at all on the face. Best to stick with Becca products after all…

Alas, I returned the product and now am head over heels in love with Kat Von D’s Shade+Light Palette. Sorry, PONY – this product did not quite cut it!

 

2 thoughts on “#MEH: Pony Effect That Girl Luminous Contouring Palette Review

  1. I own the Shade & Light eye palette and use it EVERY SINGLE TIME I do makeup, it’s perfection!! As for this, I hear that the Pony products have changed their formula and lost their quality :(( really unfortunate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

