#WORK: 3 Ways I Stay Mentally Organized

With so much going on in our lives, including meetings, deadlines, social events, and time for ourselves and our loved ones, it can easily become an overwhelming load. Do you feel like you are not able to handle things that seemed easily do-able? Do you feel time slip by sometimes without even thinking about it? Go ahead, read on!

IMG_7505

an overwhelming stack of tasks got you down?

1 – Never, EVER Underestimate the Daily To-Do List

You can write things down first thing in the morning or last thing at night, on a little notebook, or like I do, on your laptop. Give yourself just five minutes everyday to think: what should I prioritize today? When will I eat, exercise, socialize? When will I estimate myself taking a nice 30 minute break between classes? The key is to not go into the list with a fully committed mindset. After all, things will pop up spontaneously and ‘disrupt’ your plans. It’s just a good outline to keep you on track! Below is my to-do list for today:

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 10.56.57 PM

2 – Take Advantage of Your Google Calendar

For the longest time, I thought Google Calendars was useless since I kept a daily to-do list anyways. However, what I’ve realized is that a monthly calendar featuring meetings, outings, lectures, deadlines, etc is just very helpful for long-term planning. You can glance very quickly at it and know to work on the midterm paper coming up next week. If your friend asks you to have dinner tomorrow, you can look at the calendar to confirm that you are in fact free! Youtuber Estee Lalonde swears by this as well – check out her video!

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 11.02.14 PM

a sample of my calendar

Above is Estee’s video!

3 – Journal, journal, journal.

Organization’s goal is not to become a robot, but to gain a certain amount of control over your time and thus be in a healthier emotional state. I therefore believe in taking the time to ‘clean up’ your mind everyday for at least 20 minutes. This is a sacred time where I can increase awareness about my thoughts, my doubts, and my reflections on the day that passed. It prevents me from being overwhelmed. Essentially, my voice in my journal makes me become my own mentor. I strongly recommend you try it to keep your emotions organized!

Thanks for reading guys. Comment below for more tips!

3 thoughts on “#WORK: 3 Ways I Stay Mentally Organized

Leave a Reply

