2-IN-1 REVIEW: The Body Shop Brand

Over winter break, I tried out two of the Body Shop’s famous skincare products. I was looking for a heavier night moisturizer which would repair my skin, as well as an oil-control face wash. I first heard about the wonders this brand offers to the skin from famous beauty blogger Estee aka Essiebutton (check out her blog here), so I thought I’d give the brand a go! Check out my impressions of their Vitamin E Nourishing Night Cream and Seaweed Deep Cleansing Facial Wash for Combination/Oily Skin.

bodyshop2product1

My Humble Opinion:

Seaweed Deep Cleansing Facial Wash 2/5 stars

bodyshop2product2

I was quite disappointed with this product. My expectations for cleansers are quite high – the Seaweed skincare line claims to leave skin “beautifully matte” – but that is not the case. I do like the gel texture of the cleanser, which cools down my skin a bit, and I love the fresh ocean scent, but other than those things, the cleanser wasn’t my favorite at all. For one thing, it irritated my eyes. I had to be very careful when I was rubbing the product in, and I never experienced this problem with other cleansers. Also, unfortunately the cleanser strips my skin of its moisture, which in the long term tends to make me twice as oily. I feel like in the future, I need to stay away from cleansers made for oily skin, as all they do is try to suck moisture and sebum out of my skin, irritating it further.

Vitamin E Nourishing Night Cream 3/5 stars

bodyshop2product3 bodyshop2product4

This cream claims to intensely hydrate your skin while you sleep. Indeed, the formula is heavy, which I prefer when I select night creams, but to be honest, I never really noticed its effects. I felt like it adequately moisturized my skin, but my skin always feels extraordinarily oily when I wake up in the morning, not soothed and soft. In the summer/fall of last year, I used Innisfree’s Eco-Science White C Night Cream (which I think is discontinued) and it was a heavy cream, but when I woke up in the morning, my skin felt transformed. For $21, the Body Shop’s Vitamin E cream did not impress me too much.

Here is a swatch, so you can see the texture of these products (top is cleanser, bottom is cream):

bodyshop2product5

I don’t think I’ll be buying from the Body Shop skincare lines anytime soon…

Do you like the Body Shop skincare products? Any recommendations? Comment below!

4 thoughts on “2-IN-1 REVIEW: The Body Shop Brand

  1. Try the vitamin e serum in oil of evening use. It’s a serum and oil combined so sinks in much better than the night cream which is designed for dry skin, not oily skin.

    I haven’t used the seaweed scrub, but love the scrub in the range. Ask for a free sample if they do them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg are you Estée’s fan too? I started to buy a few items from The Body Shop because of her! Haha! I haven’t tried the Vitamin E night cream but I use the toner from the same line and I like it. It’s great because it’s not drying at all. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

