Subtle Spring Makeup Tutorial: Inspired by Angel Island

finalpicture2_meitu_1When I walked inside the immigration of Angel Island, taking in the Chinese carvings on the yellow and gray wall, I noticed an interesting detail. Many poems referenced to the color green, or jade. Jade is a color associated with hope and renewal in the Chinese culture – why is it so prevalent in this area? The tour guide explained to us something that I find phenomenal. Researchers have discovered that a hundred years ago, the walls had been painted green instead of the yellow color it has now. Therefore, it made perfect sense for a Chinese immigrant to write about the greenness of the room. This makeup tutorial is inspired by the golden-yellow and gray colors of the present immigration station, but puts special focus on the jade color that once inspired so many Chinese people to feel and express the hope they felt due to this one color. I want to make this look both vibrant and elegant, to express the lively connotations of jade as well as the beauty of the carved poems. This is an everyday look you can wear this season (or any season, for that matter!).

Main inspired color scheme: light green, yellow, and gray.

Step 1: Base and Eyebrows

basemakeupshot

I have already applied base here, but I’d lean towards a brightening CC or BB cream, powder highlighter, and some light finishing powder.

What I Am Using:

Etude House Correct and Care CC Cream in #1 Silky

3CE Magic Touch Face Maker in #PINK

The Face Shop Dewy Flower Moist Loose Powder in #13 Pink Beige

Hey Nature Easy Draw Waterproof Eyebrow

Step 2: Eye Priming 

eyeshadowprimer

I prime my eyelids with a gold-based eyeshadow for long wearing results.

What I Am Using: Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Greed

Step 3: Eyeshadow Base Colors

eyemakeupgreen eyemakeupgreenclosed

With my finger for better color payoff, I will sweep a shimmering light green or green-gold eyeshadow on the outer two thirds of my eye, reaching just above my crease-line.

I will then add a white shimmering eyeshadow onto the inner corners of my eye.

eyeshadowwhite

What I Am Using:

Clinique All About Shadow Quad (colors: buttered toast & lemongrass)

Step 4: Eye Contour and Eyeliner

I bring in a warm gray color into the outer corners of my lower eye to give an elegant finish to this look. Do not add too much of this dark color, instead try to spread it generously in order to achieve an ethereal finish.

blackeyeshadowopen

What I Am Using:

NYX Love in Paris Madeleines and Macaroons 9 Color Shadow Palette

Step 5: Lips and Blush

I’m going for a youthful yet elegant look, so I chose to wear a nude-pink lipstick with a matte finish. It gives just a touch of color. For blush, I went with a light frosty pink on the apples of my cheeks.

lipstickimage

What I Am Using:

Tarte Amazonian Butter Lipstick in Angelic Nude

Sephora Collection Bronzed and Blushing Palette in Blushing Pink (discontinued)

Here is the Before and After:

basemakeupshotafterpicFINALLLL_meitu_13

 

 

(The green does not show too well on camera, but trust me, you can see it!)

I hope you enjoy this everyday look – post a photo in the comment if you decide to try it yourself. Whenever I wear this look, I wear the resilient hope of those immigrants on my eyes. Happy Spring!

finalpic1_meitu_2

Leave a Reply

