Current Make-Up Hits and Misses (March 2015)

Get excited for my first Make-Up Hits and Misses, updated every three months featuring a bunch of make-up I absolutely love as well as a few products I was quite disappointed with. Basically, these are quick, to the point mini-reviews.

Let’s get started! Links lead you to online stores where you can purchase the products or check its prices.

Hits

Misses

Innisfree Mineral Melting Foundation (W1):

I bought this foundation in the summer, hoping for something that was easy to travel with, would have high SPF, brighten my skin tone, and mattify my face at the same time. This foundation does all that! It suits my shade and tone (I have warm toned skin), and what is amazing about this foundation is its ability to blur out imperfections while keeping skin matte (not dried out) all day long. I don’t even need to wear powder after applying this foundation. The compact comes with a cushion so you can retouch on the go.

 

Sephora Collection Retractable Waterproof Eyeliner in 08 Brown:

Sephora’s Retractable Waterproof Eyeliners are more affordable bang for your buck. It has an amazing range of colors, but I prefer this brown color with bronze shimmer specks to give my eyes a natural lift for a lovely daytime look. The eyeliner is easy to smudge, but give it less than a minute to set and it will not budge for the whole day. Usually, when I use pencil and cream eyeliners to tight-line my eyes, my eyes water up and cry all my makeup off, but I never have that issue with this eyeliner.

Aritaum Wannabe Longwear Shadow Stick in No. 2 Joy:

I bought this eye shadow last summer when I went to Seoul, and it changed my life, no kidding! This color has bright gold specks of glitter on a slightly white base, making it the perfect color for a cute aegyo-sal under-eye look. It glides on packed with pigment and glitter, stays on all day, and is easy to remove with cleansing oil at night. The only little issue I have with this product is that the stick of eye shadow itself fell out of the plastic packaging – that was quite inconvenient. Also, there are bristles on the other end of the stick to blend the eye shadow – it comes in handy at times!

The Face Shop Over Girl Edge Lip Crayon in RD02:

This lipstick’s formula is over the top, out of this world great. I wish it would come out with darker, more vampy shades, because I have the darkest color and its more of a true red with slight orange undertones than a burgundy red. The lipstick goes on creamy, dries matte without making my lips peel, and stays on even if I eat a meal. I can easily reapply because it won’t look cakey at all, and the teardrop shape of the lipstick bullet makes it easy to create the gradation-look lips as well.

NYX Xtreme Shine Lip Cream in Natural:

IMG_5944

I really wanted to like this product, because I’ve been looking for the perfect nude lip that added a bit of shine and sophistication to my look without washing my face out. The color of this Lip Cream is not true to the color displayed on the official website – instead of a “pale pink-beige” it is a fleshy, salmon color. However, that is not the worst of it: the formula of the cream made my lips peel on contact. Even when I tried mixing lip balm with the cream, my lips would dry out in seconds. There was no way to use this cream in a fashion that could make my lips even presentable. This was quite annoying for me.

NYX Powder Blush in Terra Cotta:

Ok. I actually have mixed feelings about this product. I definitely had high expectation, as it described itself as a “rose gold” color, and it advertised itself as a blush, so I thought it would make me look really good! So, actually, the color is more of a glimmering copper – it cannot work as a blush or even a bronzer if you are looking for anything close to a natural glow. The orange undertones and the heavy glimmer of the blush makes it unwearable. However, the pigmentation is lovely (I also purchases the NYX Powder Blush in Rose Desert and am loving both the color and formula) and it works just fine as an eyeshadow.

Hope this is helpful, and let me know what you think about these products.

3 thoughts on “Current Make-Up Hits and Misses (March 2015)

Leave a Reply

